In the Press


2014 Copa Del Rey Champions: Shockwave and HURAKAN

August 9, 2014 · Posted by kate




Palma de Mallorca, Spain (August 9, 2014) – The 33rd Copa del Rey MAPFRE finished today off the island of Mallorca. The Bay of Palma reaffirmed its reputation with good wind conditions throughout the week, and a bit more excitement on the final day with an irregular wind that reduced the sailing schedule to a single race. The King, H.R.M. King Felipe, presided over the official prize giving.

Gaastra IRC 0
The fight for the title in Gaastra Class IRC 0 was fierce throughout the week with George Sakellaris’s R/P Mini Maxi Shockwave winning the 10 race series with 3 points to spare in the ultra competative Mini Maxi Class. This inshore regatta win complements the Shockwave Team’s offshore victories in this years Newport-Bermuda Race where Shockwave was the elapsed time winner, while sweeping 1st overall in the Gibbs Hill Division under IRC and ORR. In the spring of this year Shockwave won overall the rough and tumble Caribbean 600 Race. The R/P designed and engineered Shockwave was built by McConaghy Boats. IRC o Results

Gaastra IRC 1
In the fight for the championship, Giuseppe Parodi’s HURAKAN didn’t give ground to any of his nine rivals. The R/P-designed/engineered and BMW ORACLE-built TP52 HURAKAN sealed its first Copa del Rey Title with seven victories in ten races. Team Hurakan won the World ORC Championship in 2013. IRC 1 Results

Event link and results:

Click to visit the website.

Visit the builder’s website at:

HURAKAN PHOTO © Laura G Guerra

Cowes Week: Lord Laidlaw’s R/P 52 CAPE FLING II wins IRC Class 0

August 4, 2014 · Posted by kate

Ilse of Cowes, U.K. (August 4th, 2014) – Lord Laidlaw’s  R/P 52 CAPE FLING II wins IRC Class 0 at Aberdeen Asset Management Cowes Week, 2-9 August, 2014. Cape Fling designed and engineered by Reichel/Pugh was built by McConaghy Boats.

Event Link and Press:

Click to view IRC 0 Results.

Visit the builder’s website at:

Photo © Rick Tomlinson

Scarlet Runner Wins Pacific Cup Grand Slam / Invisible Hand Takes Line Honours

July 24, 2014 · Posted by kate


Photos ©Andrea Francolini and ©Leslie Richter

The Pacific Cup is a biennial 2,070 nm race from the beautiful coastline of San Francisco to the lush, tropical paradise of Kaneohe, Hawaii.

(July 18th 2014) – Frank Slootman’s San Francisco based R/P 63 Mini Maxi Invisible Hand (pictured below / © Richter) was the Elapsed time winner and 3rd in Class of 2014 Pacific Cup with an course time of 6 days:22:4:11. Read More …

Alive Smashes 1,850nm Melbourne to Vanuatu Race Record

July 10, 2014 · Posted by kate

Port Vila, Vanuatu (Jul 6, 2014) – On Sunday July 6th Tasmanian yacht Alive smashed the record for the 1885 nautical mile ocean race across the South Pacific from Melbourne to Port Vila, the port capital of the tropical islands of Vanuatu. Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave Triumphs at the 49th NEWPORT-BERMUDA RACE

June 23, 2014 · Posted by kate


Congratulations to the owners and crews of the Reichel/Pugh designed yachts competing in the 2014 NEWPORT to BERMUDA Ocean Race (635 nautical miles).

New York Yacht Club/Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (June 23rd 2014) – George Sakellaris’ R/P-designed/engineered and McConaghy-built 72’ Mini Maxi SHOCKWAVE  took fleet line honors and wins the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy taking 1st Place Overall under both ORR and IRC.  SHOCKWAVE takes multiple silver, also snatching the Corporation of Hamilton Trophy for the first yacht to finish in fleet ( best elapsed time) and the North Rock Beacon Trophy for the best IRC corrected time in fleet. The latter, a silver replica of the 1960-1990 North Rock Light Tower that once warned mariners of the rocky approach to Bermuda from the North. Read More …

Back to top