In the Press


Wizard sets 2017 Ft. Lauderdale to Key West Race Record

January 12, 2017 · Posted by kate

Key West, Florida (January 11, 2017) – David and Peter Askew and their all-star crew on the Reichel Pugh design no. 191, the 74’ Wizard took fleet line honors and set a new mono-hull course record in the 160nm Ft. Lauderdale to Key West Race with a course time of 10 hours 18 mins & 50 seconds. The previous record was set by Joe Dockery’s 81’ Carrera Reichel/Pugh design #101 in 2005. Wizard also took 1st place on corrected time under IRC.

Design #191 is not new to the winners circle, as Hap Fauth’s Bella Mente they won the Barn Door Trophy and set a new fixed ballast course record in the 2011 Transpac. R/P design 191 returned to the Transpac as Wizard in 2013, again winning the coveted first to finish Barn Door Trophy.

Reichel/Pugh designs currently hold the Transpac course records for both fixed and moveable ballast designs, having set new Transpac course records four times since 1999, and have taken elapsed time honors in nine of the last ten Transpacs. Bella Mente won the Mini Maxi Season Championship in 2009.

Bill Bollin’s Melges 32 BadFish took elapsed time and corrected time honors under PHRF in the Ft. Lauderdale – Key West race.

Race Coverage

photo courtesy of SORC Sailing



Reflecting on 2016

January 9, 2017 · Posted by kate


Click and scroll to learn more about the recent launch of our 68′ Performance Cruiser, the All Smoke 90′ Superyacht, the My Song 130′ Superyacht, as well as seven new design concepts and many exciting regatta finishes by our Superyachts, Racers and Melges. We are looking forward to an even more productive 2017!

Reichel/Pugh-2016 Reflections


Share: share_email share_lin share_twit share_fb

Turner’s RP66 Alive Sets New China Sea Race Course Record and Takes 1st Place in IRC Division 0

March 27, 2016 · Posted by kate

RolexChinaSeaRace2016Subic Bay, Philippines (March 27, 2016) – Philip Turner’s RP66 ALIVE sets new course record and takes  1st place in IRC Division 0. The Rolex China Sea Race 2016 is a 565nm Category 1 Offshore Race run under the auspices of RORC, and takes competitors from Hong Hong, China to Subic Bay in the Philippines. Title image © Daniel Forster Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave Triumphs at the 49th NEWPORT-BERMUDA RACE

June 23, 2014 · Posted by kate


Congratulations to the owners and crews of the Reichel/Pugh designed yachts competing in the 2014 NEWPORT to BERMUDA Ocean Race (635 nautical miles).

New York Yacht Club/Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (June 23rd 2014) – George Sakellaris’ R/P-designed/engineered and McConaghy-built 72’ Mini Maxi SHOCKWAVE  took fleet line honors and wins the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy taking 1st Place Overall under both ORR and IRC.  SHOCKWAVE takes multiple silver, also snatching the Corporation of Hamilton Trophy for the first yacht to finish in fleet ( best elapsed time) and the North Rock Beacon Trophy for the best IRC corrected time in fleet. The latter, a silver replica of the 1960-1990 North Rock Light Tower that once warned mariners of the rocky approach to Bermuda from the North. Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 66’ KODIAK Wins Overall Performance Trophy at 49th NEWPORT-BERMUDA RACE

June 23, 2014 · Posted by kate


New York Yacht Club/Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (June 23rd 2014) – Edwin Llwyd Ecclestone’s R/P designed and McConaghy built 66’ KODIAK took Line Honors in the St. David’s Lighthouse Division and won overall Class 8 in ORR.  KODIAK repeated her Line Honors and Class win of the 2012 race and also won the Overall Performance Trophy as the Class Winner on Corrected Time which beat the next two yachts in her class by the largest margin. Read More …

Back to top