In the Press


Esimit Europa 2 Takes Seventh Line Honors Victory in Giraglia Offshore Race

June 19, 2014 · Posted by kate

Photo courtesy of Carlo Borlenghi / ROLEX

axis-drone-Giraglia-Rolex-Cup copy

Monaco (June 19th 2014) – Igor Simcic’s Esimit Europa 2 crossed the finish line off Monte-Carlo at 12:35 CEST, to secure the R/P-designed and McConaghy-built 100’ Super Maxis’ seventh Line Honors victory in the offshore race of the Giraglia Rolex Cup (3 victories as Neville Crichton’s Alfa Romeo and 4 victories as Esimit Europa).

Her elapsed time of 24 hours, 35 minutes, 56 seconds was well outside her record (14 hours, 56 minutes and 16 seconds) for the 62nd edition of 241-nm race, which she set in 2012 when the race finished in Sanremo. The predicted tricky wind conditions extinguished any hope of bettering her benchmark time.

Skipper Jochen Schumann said, “It was perfect to win line honors in this special edition of the Giraglia Rolex Cup finishing in Monaco. We were lucky to finish much earlier than expected. Aside from a critical point off Saint-Tropez where the wind was very light we got our strategy just right.” Owner Igor Simcic explained that it was a unique idea to finish the race in Monte-Carlo and for him, “the best finish of my life.”


Builder: McConaghy
Source: Regatta News
Map courtesy of Giraglia Rolex Cup Media

Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave has won overall the RORC Caribbean 600

February 26, 2014 · Posted by kate


2014 Royal Ocean Racing Club CARIBBEAN 600
(600nm) / Antigua Yacht Club

(February 26, 2014) – George Sakellaris’ Reichel/Pugh designed and McConaghy built 72’ Mini Maxi Shockwave has won overall the RORC CARIBBEAN 600 for the best IRC corrected time in the sixty boat fleet. The 6th edition of this increasingly popular 600 nm classic started off Antigua on February 24th and covered a tough and exhilarating course around 11 islands before finishing off Antigua. Read More …

Wizard Wins The Barn Door & 3 San Francisco Bay Area R/P Designs Take Class Wins In 2013 TRANSPAC

July 25, 2013 · Posted by kate

Reichel/Pugh Yachts Take Top Spots in 2013 Transpac Race

2013 Transpac Race (2225nm)
22 July 2013, Transpacific Yacht Club Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 86’ Windquest Takes Line Honors Win in the 105th Chicago to Mackinac

July 17, 2013 · Posted by kate

2013 105th Chicago to Mackinac Race, presented by Veuve Clicquot (333nm)
17 July 2013, Chicago Yacht Club (CYG)

Congratulations to Dick & Doug DeVos family and crew of the Reichel/Pugh designed/engineered and McConaghy Boats built 86’ Maxi WINDQUEST for taking Line Honors in the 2013 105th Chicago to Mackinac Race, presented by Veuve Clicquot. Windquest was first to finish in the racing divisions and the winner of the Royono Trophy.

  Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 100’ Wallycento Magic Carpet 3 Takes Line Honors Win in Giraglia Rolex Cup

June 25, 2013 · Posted by kate


2013 Giraglia ROLEX Cup (243nm)
June 14-22 2013, Yacht Club Italiano (YCI)

Read More …

Back to top