In the Press


Shockwave Wins 2015 Pineapple Cup – Montego Bay Race (811nm)

February 9, 2015 · Posted by kate

MontegoBayRaceMontego Bay, Jamaica (February 9, 2015)George Sakellaris’s  Reichel/Pugh-designed, McConaghy-built 72-foot Shockwave stormed through the Windward Passage in the wee hours on Feb. 8, taking aim to break the record set in 2005 by the 75-foot Reichel/Pugh Titan 12 of 2 days, 10 hours, 24 minutes, 42 seconds. However, light and fickle winds near the finish in Montego Bay left the team 41 minutes off the pace as they crossed the finish line at ten minutes past midnight with an elapsed finish time of 02:11:05:03. Shockwave had the best corrected time in fleet repeating her result in the 2013 race as Elapsed and Corrected time winner. Congratulations to George Sakellaris and crew, as well as the additional ten teams to complete the 32nd edition of the 811 nm Pineapple Cup – Montego Bay Race.

Watch the Start:…

Check out Team Shockwave on Facebook to stay up to date with her activities.

Race Website

About The Pineapple Cup – Montego Bay Race
The course takes the fleet from the start line south of Port Everglades inlet, through the Bahamas Islands to the finish line off Montego Bay, Jamaica, leaving Great Isaac (including Northeast Rock and East Brother), Great Stirrup, Eleuthera Island, Long Island, and Cuba to starboard.

Photo © Eric Doyle – 2013 Montego Bay Race
Source: Event Site

2014 Copa Del Rey Champions: Shockwave and HURAKAN

August 9, 2014 · Posted by kate




Palma de Mallorca, Spain (August 9, 2014) – The 33rd Copa del Rey MAPFRE finished today off the island of Mallorca. The Bay of Palma reaffirmed its reputation with good wind conditions throughout the week, and a bit more excitement on the final day with an irregular wind that reduced the sailing schedule to a single race. The King, H.R.M. King Felipe, presided over the official prize giving. Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave Triumphs at the 49th NEWPORT-BERMUDA RACE

June 23, 2014 · Posted by kate


Congratulations to the owners and crews of the Reichel/Pugh designed yachts competing in the 2014 NEWPORT to BERMUDA Ocean Race (635 nautical miles).

New York Yacht Club/Royal Bermuda Yacht Club (June 23rd 2014) – George Sakellaris’ R/P-designed/engineered and McConaghy-built 72’ Mini Maxi SHOCKWAVE  took fleet line honors and wins the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy taking 1st Place Overall under both ORR and IRC.  SHOCKWAVE takes multiple silver, also snatching the Corporation of Hamilton Trophy for the first yacht to finish in fleet ( best elapsed time) and the North Rock Beacon Trophy for the best IRC corrected time in fleet. The latter, a silver replica of the 1960-1990 North Rock Light Tower that once warned mariners of the rocky approach to Bermuda from the North. Read More …

Reichel/Pugh 72′ Shockwave has won overall the RORC Caribbean 600

February 26, 2014 · Posted by kate


2014 Royal Ocean Racing Club CARIBBEAN 600
(600nm) / Antigua Yacht Club

(February 26, 2014) – George Sakellaris’ Reichel/Pugh designed and McConaghy built 72’ Mini Maxi Shockwave has won overall the RORC CARIBBEAN 600 for the best IRC corrected time in the sixty boat fleet. The 6th edition of this increasingly popular 600 nm classic started off Antigua on February 24th and covered a tough and exhilarating course around 11 islands before finishing off Antigua. Read More …

Mini Maxi Shockwave Dominates at Key West

January 25, 2013 · Posted by kate

Shockwave Dominates in Battle of the Mini Maxis

Shockwave Wins 7 Races in 2013 Quantum Key West Race Week
Strong turnout in the Reichel/Pugh designed Melges 24 & Melges 32 Classes

Read More …

Back to top